Everybody has the right to live without violence, abuse, and neglect. However, people with disability are often the victims of abuse and neglect – much more often than people who don’t have a disability.

People with disability who are at high risk of abuse include people who have an intellectual disability, communication problems, high support needs, and behaviours of concern. People in supported accommodation are also at high risk, mainly because they need to rely on staff to meet their daily needs.

Understanding abuse is about recognising abuse as a violation of a person's human rights. A focus on what makes life good for each person is the best way to enable rights and minimise risk of abuse. It is also about knowing what signs to be aware of that abuse is happening or has taken place.

Responding to abuse is about being ready to respond appropriately, quickly, and effectively to any incidents of abuse, neglect, and violence toward people with disability. It is about having clear policy and set actions that organisations are required to take to respond when abuse occurs, including supporting victims and working with authorities.

The program is divided up into 10 units. They include:

Unit 1 – Background Information.

Unit 2 - The Participant & the Service.

Unit 3 – Recognising Violence, abuse, and neglect.

Unit 4 - It is important to know about signs and symptoms of abuse, neglect, and exploitation.

Unit 5 – Preventing abuse.

Unit 6 – Reporting abuse.

Unit 7 - Responding to a report of abuse.

Unit 8 - Concerns About Reporting Abuse.

Unit 9 -Privacy and Confidentiality.

Unit 10 – Emergency response.

Unit 11 – Protecting evidence for NSW Police.

Unit 12 – Support for Participants.

Unit 13 - General Record Keeping.

Unit 14 - Timeframes and Report to NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission.

Click Here to take the test

Don't have a BTG e-Learning subscription yet?

ENROL or make sure you LOGIN  if you are already a BTG e-Learning subscriber