Reducing and eliminating the use of restrictive practices is consistent with the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) and its intent to protect the rights, freedoms, and inherent dignity of people with disability. Australia has ratified and agreed to be bound by the terms of the CRPD under international law.

People with disability who are supported by disability service providers and engage in Behaviours of Concern that are perceived to be harmful to themselves or others are at risk of being subjected to restrictive practices.

There are different types of restrictive practices, however, the NSW Government has embraced the five different forms of regulated restrictive practices outlined by the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission.

They are as follows:

  1. Seclusion

  2. Physical restraint

  3. Mechanical restraint

  4. Chemical restraint (includes regular use of medication)

  5. Environmental restraint

This program will provide you with information and resources to assist you in developing a further understanding of Restrictive and Prohibited Practices.

The program is divided up into 2 units. They include:

Unit 1 – Restrictive Practice (including: Case Studies and Videos)

Unit 2 - Prohibited Practice.

Click Here to take the test

Don't have a BTG e-Learning subscription yet?

ENROL or make sure you LOGIN  if you are already a BTG e-Learning subscriber